Book Review: The Lake House by Kate Morton

Whether you own an e-reader or not, I highly recommend Bookbub.com to all my reader friends. The free subscription sends you an email every day on the various deals available for ebooks for the genres of your choosing. But there is an another perk – check out their blog with book list posts that gives you endless lists of great books in every genre imaginable.  It is fast becoming my go-to site for book recommendations. I can easily find exactly what I am in the mood for and it is a great tool for discovering new authors.  That’s how I picked up this book.

I so thoroughly enjoyed reading “The Lake House”. It had so many of my favorites going for it. I love Gothic books and am always excited to find a new author who writes this type of book. I recently read “The Lost Girls” by Heather young and it started me off on this new mini-genre (new to me, at least) of mysteries set in the present and past and narrated in parallel. Its natural that this appealed to me, considering that my favorite Agatha Christie is “Five little pigs” where Hercule Poirot investigates and solves a murder mystery that happened many years before. I appreciate the extra challenge that cold cases present with clues long gone and people’s flailing memories.

If there was ever a book that translated the process of putting a jigsaw puzzle into a novel, this was it. I am an avid jigsaw puzzle solver and reading this book was the literary equivalent of that process. Through the book, along with Sadie Sparrow, you find and try out various pieces of the puzzle – the disappearance of little Theo Edevane that happened 70 years ago. Featuring a complex set of many different characters, the story had so many layers to it. Every time you think you have located the correct piece of the puzzle, you realize it doesn’t really fit and you are off searching for the right one.

Towards the end, the solution became somewhat obvious by way of elimination but that did not deter from the enjoyment. I was so conflicted by the ending. Part of me felt that the ending was weak with one to many coincidences. I felt like the author had broken some of the very rules that she mentioned earlier in the book. However, there was a small part of me that appreciated how the story wrapped up in a nice tidy end with no loose hanging threads. I think a younger me would have loved the ending but I am now an older reader who is at last starting to appreciate the positives of open endings and questions left unanswered. My one other complaint was that the story was too wordy and described in too much detail. About a quarter of the book could have been cut off resulting in a tauter, quicker read. I like authors like Stephen King, who describe just enough to spark the reader’s imagination to complete the picture instead of listing every little thing.

I am excited to read that this is considered to be one of the author’s weaker books. It means I have a few other better books by her waiting for me. I am so looking forward to those!

-AB

Leave a Reply

