Book Review: All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

This was an interesting book. It was very suspenseful and unique in its style, in that the story was told in reverse.

The book starts off with the protagonist, Nic Farrell, returning to her small hometown for the summer to help her brother with selling their house and dealing with their ailing father. I like books that begin with a bang and this one didn’t. The first couple of chapters that set up the background were quite boring. There was nothing to pull the reader in. It was amazing that I continued with it. Nevertheless, I am glad I did.

After the stage was set the story proceeds speedily, narrated in reverse from Day 15 to Day 1. I found this to be a very daring strategy that nevertheless paid off in the end. However, even though it worked, it was also very off-putting and distracting. Instead of seamlessly sinking into the book, I had to actively work at following the narrative. This was extremely frustrating, especially when I had to stop reading and pick it up later on. It might be easier to read this as a physical book instead of as an ebook. The ebook format made it harder to go back for a quick look.

Nic Farrell is a mess on Day 15, which is two weeks after a girl goes missing just like another one did in the past. As the story proceeds we find out what happened in the present and the past (somewhat chronologically). Again, this aspect of the book made it confusing to follow. However, even with these challenges, the author did a good job building up the suspense and the reveal at the end of the reverse narration. I wonder how the story will hold up if read backwards (something I was very tempted to do as I read along, but I stuck with the reverse narration because that was the author’s intention). I might go back and read it backwards, but I don’t think it will be the same as reading it backwards for the first time. The reverse narration also affected the character development negatively.

The book handles interesting themes like… how far would one go to protect a loved one, how lack of communication affects relationships, and how the shadow of the past colors the present.

I  give this a 3.5 out of 5 stars. That is because the story fell apart at the end of the reverse narration. The events towards the end are very far-fetched and unbelievable. I especially hated the ending and I doubt that the characters would have ended up the way they did.

Still, I was glad I persevered with it and enjoyed reading it. Kudos to author for undertaking this risky reverse narration strategy and handling it as well as she did. A good debut into adult fiction from an author who usually writes YA. Certainly worth a read and I look forward to more by her.

-AB

Leave a Reply

